Z515 Spring 2015

Exactly! Who’s going to read all that?

Krug’s reading speaks a lot to my redesign of IRCTC – the Indian Railways Site for Ticket booking. There are decisions I could have taken as a designer, but didn’t and instead played safe.

It boggles my mind (as well as others in the class)  how the makers of IRCTC website collected a whole bunch of information for the website, made decisions to post it/include in the site and continue to have it. For one, no one is going to read the article about the History of IRCTC. Like Krug mentions, people are on a mission. As a user I log on to IRCTC to book my train ticket, where every minute counts, and once I successfully book the ticket, I wish to close the browser tab and get back to work. It’s as simple as that.

We as designers, sometimes do believe that all the content we create is useful to the user and ought to be included in the website.

For my project, I solely focussed on organizing the information present in the site, while I could have in a rash and bold way, come up with a rationale to trash 75% of the website, which contain static content that a user may never want to visit.

In spite of providing a familiar navigational content in my redesign, I still feel that info could be lost, considering the range of audience the site receives. I turned the Scrolling Alerts into a page called News and Updates. It seemed like the most logical thing to do. But who is going to navigate to the News and Updates section on a Ticket booking website.

I believe, though organizing content in itself a hard task sometimes, it’s even harder to decide what to keep and what to discard. A strong will combined with user stories would provide a good rationale to a designer to defend one’s decision and put it forth towards the client.

This entry was written by Anusha and published on May 21, 2015 at 12:30 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Exactly! Who’s going to read all that?

  1. Pingback: Dislocating convention | Z515 Spring 2015

Leave a Reply

