Z515 Spring 2015

Tool of choice

I was having a discussion yesterday with one of my student from the class I AI for. In class we tell them to use a specific tool for document creation, “InDesgin”. We ask them for evidence that they used this tool.

I later made an admission to her. I told her that I hated InDesign and I myself don’t use it to create documents. She marveled at this, and said but you always say that we must use this tool. And I said yes, but it is simply a recommendation.

Each and every designer has their own tool of choice, Photoshop, Illustrator, Axure, the list goes on. But when you work is graded in class or presented to a client, they are not concerned about what tool you used to create your work. They are concerned with the actual work itself. The final product.

This is what I ended up telling her, I don’t care what you use just make sure it looks right. And I would give the same advice to any designer including myself.  And I believe that teaching where we focus on the specific tool and not the final product is wrong. I’ve seen excellent wireframes made in powerpoint and keynote.  Do what works for you, just make sure the job is done well.

This entry was written by Kudzai Chinyadza and published on April 13, 2015 at 1:47 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

