Z515 Spring 2015

Flowchart problems

I’ve worked with flowcharts before, and I can say that I never enjoy both creating and using them. I completely understand their utility in the design processes especially when communicating with outside teams.

I have no experience creating flowcharts for websites, which I believe is more complicated than creating a flowchart for an interactive system like I did last summer. Why I believe websites are more complicated is because there is no one point of entry thanks to search engines external links to pages. Because of this, I think it is more difficult to create a cohesive flowchart because the actions that a user will do is unpredictable.

I personally prefer creating a flowchart of a specific task or action. For example, user wants to purchase tickets on the site, or user wants to cancel a recent purchase. I think these scenarios help with creating good flowcharts. The assignment that was due yesterday was difficult for me, because there was no specific task. Maybe I should have constrained myself that way in order to come up with better results.

This entry was written by Kudzai Chinyadza and published on March 30, 2015 at 4:05 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

