Z515 Spring 2015

Dislocating conventions

I’m one of those people who barely reads anything whenever they go to a website. To be honest, I barely even use Finder on my MacBook, and find everything I need with a keyboard shortcut to a spotlight search. Although I barely read pages, I really appreciate a clean and understandable design on a website. While browsing, I’m quick to jump to conclusions and guess what will be behind links, or included inside of content, and where that content might be located. I am totally using all of my past experience combined to inform how I navigate new information online.

Interface design takes into account aesthetic qualities, and also includes design conventions that are both good and bad for designers. Sometimes I am frustrated by the new and trendy responsive design websites that look like a downward column of horizontal tiles with a horizontal navigation bar on top. These websites often use trendy visual effects to make you feel like things are moving at different speeds as you scroll down the page (Parallax). I feel like this design is a convention that doesn’t highlight how content is organized on a website, and honestly makes things harder to navigate IU is following this trend recently, and even appropriating iphone app design in one.iu, and other places. I feel like the web and mobile apps should never be the same. I wonder if it’s just laziness in design that’s making this a trend. I wonder what user testing would find out about whether appropriating app design in websites is helpful or not.

This entry was written by thschone and published on March 2, 2015 at 2:55 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

